A second featherweight

I never thought I would say this, but I have now completed not one but two cardigans in lace weight yarn. A slightly modified version of the featherweight by Hannah Fettig I knitted for my mum, also in Fyberspates Scrumtious lace (this one in teal). It’s amazing what one can achieve from one skein, or 1km, of silk weight yarn. Knitted from the bottom up, I extended the sleeves and front pieces and made the ribbed edges around the neck and on the front slightly shorter. I was holding my breath I bound off as I with this modified version with larger front pieces ending up with a mere few yards to spare.

I’m enjoying wearing the cardigan. It is truly as light as a feather and the silk/merino mix makes it as warm as any chunky cardigan but without the heavy weight. It is very comfortable and I think the yarn drapes beautifully. And all at the bargain price of £4 from a Leith walk thrift store.

IMG_1190     IMG_1194

IMG_1182     IMG_1204

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A second featherweight

  1. It looks great – and in a fabulous color! I too have found wearing a laceweight wool sweater a warm and cozy addition to layering for cold weather wear!

  2. nickyprysjones says:

    You found the yarn on Leith Walk? Now that is awesome! Which charity shop should I visit when I go back to Edinburgh?

  3. Pingback: Stashbusting – getting creative with Featherweight | craftyally

Leave a Reply

