The New Year – and some Xmas pressie chat

Happy New Year! It’s 2013 which, of course, is the year of the Edinburgh Yarn Festival! YarnPony, Jo and I who are organising the day are super excited (and super busy). You can follow the progress and working up to the festival on the Edinburgh Yarn Festival blog where we shortly will reveal the classes and list of stallholders – all of which we are very proud!

logo final

On the home front illness hit this household pretty bad this holiday season and amongst the Christmas preparation, travelling etc etc there wasn’t much time for blogging. Here comes a little summary of what I have been up to.

As Christmas knitting was piling up I took advantage of the wonders of one skein projects. Using 8mm needles (yes, that’s right) on bulky yarn (Malabrigo Gruesa, 100% wool, Super Bulky, 65 yard/100g) I churned out a hat for my wee girl in a couple of hours.

In the snow

This child sized pixie hat fits my three-year-old perfectly. It is the Wee Folk Art Pointed Pixie or Gnome Hat by Michelle WeeFolkArt which is a free pattern. I cast on 48 stitches which is the amount for a large hat, but followed the directions for a size medium in terms of height. In the end I had about 10″ of the yarn left. Phew!

Leading up to Christmas I was busy making knitting project bags for various Christmas markets and I couldn’t resist allowing the bag making to spread into my Christmas pressie making. Here are some fairly dodgy photos of the pencil cases I made for my God daughter and her wee sister.

Wee CraftyAlly bag

Wee CraftyAlly bag

I’m looking forward to see what excitement this year will have in store for us.

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

